PDA

View Full Version : practice with petit-cheese!

S.Razelrink
05-23-2014, 07:53 PM
I started drawing random things with suggestions and advice and tips and everything else that is good, from user petit-cheese. thanks for your pointers! :')

I did a quick-ish (hour quick) sketch trying to incorporate thickness of lines but I don't think I have the hang of it yet. it's an okay start, maybe!

http://i.imgur.com/rTaW0CR.jpg
yes, that is yuudachi kai ni, and yes those are supposed to be night-vision goggles because I thought I'd make her look really cool!
I picked this pose because I want to be able to draw dynamic poses and angles : )

petit-cheese
05-29-2014, 12:57 AM
S.Razelrink Hey hey, so sorry for my super late response! I've been piled with work stuff and been out of town for couple of days to boot.

I drew a redline for you:

http://i.imgur.com/QRjhkHB.jpg

The first thing that stuck out to me was your pose. What is her action showing? It's always important to approach your character drawings with some story to tell through their body language to relay to your audience. If she's standing in place, is the character confident or timid? Or maybe in-between? If your character in mid-action, like running or walking, you want to push it to the extreme pose for best effect. Coming up with poses can be hard and I find that starting with small thumbnail sketches first helps me out a lot.

Second thing was your foreshortening, as noted by my red text. The small little line can make or break the illusion of depth in your drawing. It can be tricky but you'll get it down with some practice.

Your drawings have a lot of personality and I want to see you push them further! I'll try to respond in a timely manner from now on. Remember to keep it loose and sketchy!

S.Razelrink
05-29-2014, 06:39 AM
petit-cheese welcome back! : )